10 comments on “Diapers

  1. Hybrid diapers like Flip, Best Bottoms, and Grovia (and I’m sure there are a ton more) have an insert that snaps into the shell. I’ve heard they’re good to keep in diaper bags because the bulk is cut down. You can use one shell/cover and snap in a new insert when the other gets dirty. Stick the insert in your wet bag instead of any of the other bulkier diapers and you’re good to go. I would probably keep a couple of shells in there in case of a blow out situation, but otherwise, I think it’s a good on-the-go solution.

  2. Oh, also, the sized diapers tend to be good for trimness. One size (OS) diapers are usually a little bulkier and may cause you to have to go up a size in pants. So, OS will stick with you throughout the diaper wearing phase and offer a really great return on investment, but sized diapers will help your little one fit into pants better. They’re also good for newborns as they tend to have a little umbilical cord cut-out and most OS will not fit right until the baby weighs a little more than they do at birth. Either way, you can usually sell cloth diapers on ebay or similar sites for more than half what you paid for them if they’re in good shape. So, when you’re done with the diapers, you can still get some money back to spend on new diapers.

  3. Oh lord, I need to have my coworker comment on this entry – he and his wife are cloth diapering their daughter (she’s 10 months I think), and his wife has gone cloth diaper crazy (I’m told that Hyena Cart is the way to go). Though I also know that Matt prefers one type of diaper while his wife prefers a different one, so there you go…

    Also, I find it funny that grandparents (I’m assuming as in the baby’s grandparents, i.e. your parents) are considered generally “against” cloth diapering when it’s quite possible that they did do cloth diapering. I know with people that are slightly older than us, it was much more likely than those our age and younger, but still; it’s funny to me.

    • My older sister and I were both in cloth diapers, and that’s precisely why my mom has come out strong already to let us know she will not being changing any of them for us. I bet she’ll change her mind when she sees how much easier they are now, though. I’d love to hear from your coworker!

  4. I’m about four years into cloth diapering – my first darling daughter wore them until she potty-trained at 2 years and 3 months, and my second is going to be two in about 2 weeks and is still . I mostly use pocket diapers but seriously, I’ve tried most systems, pocket, all-in-one, hybrid, fitteds, prefolds, flats, wool covers and PUL covers, snaps and aplix (velcro). You have done an great job researching and seriously, your description of cloth diapering is of truly admirable simplicity and will do a great job de-mystifying the whole sizing/closure/type choices.

    I’ve used Snappis and they are brilliant, but it is worth noting that using a good diaper pin gets super easy as you get used to it and does hold better than a Snappi, and a Snappi can tear right into your finger if you aren’t careful, so go with your preference, neither is inherently superior. Most Aplix (velcro) diapers have a patch of the loop-type stuff right next to the hook side tabs, so when you take the diaper off baby you can “close” the velcro so it doesn’t grab everything in your wash.

    Speaking of wash, never ever ever use fabric softener on your diapers. Consider just throwing it out anyway; it is chemically horrendous. But it leaves a water-resistant barrier on diapers, which is disaster on something meant to absorb quickly. Personally I wash diapers in loads by themselves without any other clothes; it isn’t really necessary but it suits my OCD and over time cotton fibers (from towels, etc) can pill on fleece diaper insides and reduce the softness.

    Also, diaper sprayers are a neat luxury but certainly not required. If you’re using one, mind the pressure, lest you get water-borne poo droplets all over the bathroom. Myself, when my girls were little and just breastfed, the diapers just went into the dry pail and then into the wash and got cleaned up just fine, and once they got big-girl solids poop I just shake the diaper over the toilet and what goes in goes, and the remaining residue goes into the wash.

    I have tried, among others, FuzziBunz, Rump-a-rooz, BumGenius, Rocky Mountain Diaper company, Wahmies, Drybees, Happy Heinys, Applecheeks, Play-All-day prefolds, fitteds and wool covers, gDiapers, Flip diapers, handmade diapers and covers… They all have different strong points but honestly I haven’t had problems with any of them! I started off researching like you guys when I was pregnant with #1, registered for and received a lot of FuzziBunz, and seriously I have never, ever regretted this. We’ve saved SO MUCH money (thousands of dollars, no kidding) and my eldest has craaaazy sensitive skin. We’ve never needed diaper cream (DO NOT use diaper cream with cloth diapers and make sure your babysitters know not to as well) and never had diaper rash problems. Think about getting cloth wipes for at home – baby washcloths work though I like cotton flannel wipes that are cute and designed for the purpose. I keep disposable wipes in my diaper bag for out-and-about with Baby #2, but Baby #1 was so sensitive disposable wipes just flared her bottom right up. Most newborn tushies, even if they aren’t attached to super-sensitive kiddos, just can’t handle disposable wipes, and nearly every proud parent has gone home, used the exact same wipes they use at the hospital, and been shocked to discover an angry red bottom awaiting them after a couple of days of changes. Plain water, either soaked into a wipe or poured/sprayed onto a bottom and patted off with a wipe, works just fine.

    I think it’s awesome that you’re going to go such a varied route with your diapering choices – it will be very flexible. Like you note, different diapers work well for different situations. It is funny the resistance to cloth diapers from grandparents and such sometimes – many times I’ve found that they just remember the cloth diapers of yesteryear and, unaccustomed to modern miracles like pocket diapers, they just don’t want to get near their grandbabies with pins!

    Good luck with your cloth-diapering endeavors and parenthood in general, and thanks for writing about it so clearly and concisely to spread the word about cloth diapering! We just wrote about why it is better for baby and parents, but it’s awfully thoughtful for the rest of the world too. 🙂

    • Thanks so much for reading and commenting! We’re really hoping we can research and plan our way into being good parents, but I have a feeling our baby will throw some curveballs at us. Thanks so much for your advice, too. I haven’t heard anyone else suggest basic pins, but it does make sense that they would be more secure. We’ll definitely have a few around and try a lot of different things to see what works best for us. Thanks again!

  5. Cloth diapering is awesome, and once you get over the learning curve, it really is easy and totally worth it. People will say your water and electric bill will go up, but really not noticeably. Once you figure out the detergent you like and your washing machine needs you are good to go. IT may take a while to find the right detergent that works for you though. We went through 3 before we found the right one for us. The upfront cost may be a little daunting, but in the end you save SO much money. I definitely agree that pre-folds/covers are the way to go in the beginning, especially for boys (from the experiences I have heard from my friends anyway) because you can choose extra protection up front where it is needed. I find you do not even need snappis, you can just put the prefold on and put the cover right over it. No snappis needed. But they are cheap and cute so it doesn’t hurt.

    A note on fuzzi buns. If you are expecting a big baby (Ellie was 9lb 6oz) fuzzi buns may not be for you. They are great for smaller kids but not big chunckey kids. I would wait to buy them until you know what your child’s build is. That is very common feed back for them. I do not love my bum genius diapers but they are easy. The velcro is cheap. I fully support snaps! The one brand that has great high quality velcro are bummis, which I LOVE.

    Also, depending on Jenna’s craftiness, cloth diapers are easy to make. I have some good patterns and tools and stuff if you want to learn real quick. Easy peasy.

    Here are my blogs on cloth diapering so far. I have more reviews and things I need to write but its a good start. Sounds like you guys are on top of things! Like I said before feel free to hit me up if you want to fondle diapers or try anything we have… We are only going through a few a day with Ellie learning to potty so I could let you borrow a few if you need.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks so much! I was wondering if the cover would be enough to hold the prefold on him, so we’ll have to try that out as well. Jenna doesn’t sew much, but I do, so I’d love those patterns if you have them handy. We may also take you up on borrowing some different brands to see how we like them. I think Jenna won a couple batches of different diapers on eBay for great prices, so we have a bit of a stash built up now. Still, I’m thinking that we’ll have more experimenting to do to figure out which works best for him in which situations. Our boy seems to be of a pretty standard size so far, but I was a big baby so that’s a bit of a toss up. We’ll just have to see what happens when he’s born, I guess. Can’t wait! I’m getting impatient about finally meeting him.

      • Yeah just let me know if you guys want to get together some time and I can get those patterns copied for you at mike’s work ;). Also http://www.zany-zebra.com/ has free cloth diaper patterns and some good info. We are getting impatient to meet our little dude too. He keeps measuring in the 60% so I don’t know what I will do with such a tiny little thing 😉

Leave a Reply

