4 comments on “Not quite a birth story, but about as close as I’m going to get for now

  1. He’s so unbelievably cute 🙂 I love the birth story – thanks for sharing! And congrats again on being a dad – you’ll be awesome … I can already tell. I hear ya about avoiding a lot of intervention for births – a good friend of mine was telling me a little over a year ago that she’s planning a home birth in a tub, and at first I didn’t know why she wanted to go that route with all the “medical advancements” we have now (this is me before being exposed to all the info about natural health, the real food movement, etc). She recommended that I watch the documentary “The Business of Being Born”, and then I understood why she chose to have a home birth. I was actually infuriated at the lack of basic CHOICE that young parents have to handle in hospital settings. I’m really glad that your birth plan went well — and I really respect your family’s decision to try to limit all the unnecessary vaccines and avoid formula (blech!) … it isn’t easy going against the current, but it really pays off. I hope you enjoy every minute of little Gryff’s childhood 🙂 Have a good one!

    • Thanks! We’re pretty fond of him. I feel like most of fatherhood is coming pretty naturally so far, but I’m sure it will get much more complicated as he gets older and more mobile.

      Actually, we’re no longer big fans of the idea of home birth, at least for ourselves. We watched “The Business of being Born” and Jenna read “Spiritual Midwifery” and we dug into a bunch of other crunchy birth stuff, too. We had come to believe that home birth was infinitely superior to hospital birth, but our own experiences have really changed our minds. If we’d had our birth at home, or even at the birth center we have in town, things could have gone very badly for us. So now, we’re all about the “Midwife in a hospital” idea, since that seems to give a good balance of natural birth philosophy with availability of emergency medical services. I’m hoping my wife will have some free time to write up the birth story soon so I can stop being all vague about what happened without giving away any spoilers. If she doesn’t, I’ll probably write up my perspective on it just so everyone knows the general story, at least. I do think people should do their research and come to their own conclusions about the best thing for themselves and their family, but I’ll be the first one to say that I’m incredibly thankful that we had such quick access to emergency medical care.

      Anyway, enough of my soapbox. Once we tell our story, I’m sure it will all make more sense. Thanks again!

  2. Congratulations dad! You’ve been doing this now for over six months, while I’ve just hit the two-month marker withour little angel Tiago! I’m also a fan of attachment parenting, as it feels most natural and true to being a caring parent, but as the mummy who doesn’t sleep more than two hours in a row, ever, I read up on all sides of these issues. The days when I am absolutely knackered I find myself giving less of my all to Tiago and struggling to get through the day, so I read it all, as I do all my research, with a grain of salt. Right now Tiago is attached to his fist (as he hasn’t found his thumb yet) and I’m wondering what your take is on pacifiers?

    • We didn’t do them with our boy. He liked his fist as well, and then when he got good enough with his fingers to get his thumb out and in his mouth, he started doing that. Now he’s a complete thumb-sucker and we love it. He always has it, so when he needs to soothe himself he isn’t reliant on someone bringing him the paci, and he can’t drop it or lose it or anything. My understanding of all of it is that no matter what they’re sucking on, it isn’t going to do them any harm until they’re around 4 or older. At that point you can start seeing negative effects to sucking on thumbs or pacifiers in the way their teeth come in. I also read recently that especially with boys, pacifiers can inhibit their emotional growth, since they have a harder time mimicking facial expressions around the pacifier (I’m wondering if it has to do with them learning early not to spit it out because they may not be able to find it again, whereas with a thumb they know they can pop it out and pop it back in easily). Watching adults and mimicking expressions is an important part of them learning how expressions relate to emotion, and if they miss out on that in the early stages they can have a harder time recognizing expressions and even expressing their own emotions later in life. Pretty fascinating stuff. So anyway, that’s my take on it. If he likes the fist or the thumb, I’d say let him go with it.

Leave a Reply

